A Place of My Own



Why Kevin and Kell?
Why?




or ...



Newest
Older
E-mail
Diaryland



No sound? Click for help!

Why I love this music

2003-04-03 - 11:12 a.m.

Support First

You have to understand, I am absolutely against this war. It is stupid, illogical, and inhumane. I believe that Saddam Hussein and his followers are truly evil. I also believe that Mr. Bush and his sycophants are either not thinking clearly or else have agendas that I can�t understand. And I resent the war more than I can express, especially because, despite having more questions than answers, I can�t protest any more. As soon as we actually began fighting, the situation changed. I have been manipulated into a position of having to choose:

  • support the men and women who have been sent to Iraq, or
  • denounce the war for the travesty it is, and thus aid and comfort the enemy.
My position has to be to support the troops.

�Aiding and comforting the enemy�� � such an old-fashioned term. Does it still have any meaning? Yes, it does. Every demonstration against the government sends a message to the Iraqis that we � the people of the United States � really don�t want to win, and if our opponents can hold out long enough, they will be the victors. The longer they hold out, the more Americans will die. Saddam Hussein is not that different from the child who has learned that, if mother says no, go ask father. If he can resist through next year, the protesters might elect a president who will champion his cause. It could happen, y�know, because all the Americans are crazy. And if you think for one minute that that mindset doesn�t exist around the world, then you really are crazy.

I have the deepest respect for anyone who does a job for me that I can�t do myself. Most especially I respect people like firemen and policemen who risk their lives for my safety. That includes all of our people in the military. The argument that �they chose to be there� just doesn�t hold water. If you don�t personally know people who have enlisted, have you ever stopped to ask yourself just why they joined?

Some joined for the opportunity to travel, or just to be able to get away from their parents. Many of them wanted to be trained in a specific job, or to earn college tuition. In bad economic times, it�s not unusual to look to the military just for a dependable paycheck. And, yes, some joined because they love their country and want to serve. At the very bottom of anyone�s list of reason would be to kill or be killed. Remember, most of these folks not only enlisted in peacetime, they don�t even remember a war.

So, until this stupidity is concluded, I am not publicly protesting. I can�t do it. But watch for my opinion when it�s over. Meanwhile � Dubya and the Psychophants is a good name for a band�

Current Reading:
Good Diary Today:
From the Old Folks' Radio:

previous - next

thanksalot - 2012-03-15
update 12-2011 - 2011-12-04
Did You Know? - 2011-02-08
Not Really an Update - 2011-01-14
The Lonely Crowd - 2010-11-15

Like it? Spread the word!
Members page
About me