A Place of My Own



Why Kevin and Kell?
Why?




or ...



Newest
Older
E-mail
Diaryland



No sound? Click for help!

Why I love this music

2003-04-09 - 10:40 a.m.

The �Word� Puzzle, and Other Things

As I explained when I wrote about computers, I can do lots of things, but the application that I use and value more than any other is Microsoft Word. When I have to, I�ll use another word processor, but that�s my first choice. So you can imagine my distress when it refused to open. ��low on resources,� it said. So how come I could use Excel, or even Access, for pete�s sake, but I still couldn�t open Word?

Without Word, how do I write anything at all, not to mention entries for Diaryland? And Boss Lawyer was inconsiderate enough to have real work for me, so that I couldn�t do much personal writing on his computer�

I did all the usual things, cleaning out junk, closing other programs, even reinstalling, to no avail. Son was here on Sunday. He ran the procedures he�d used on other machines, deleted the whole kit and kiboodle, reinstalled � and it still wouldn�t work. He went home and did mega research (don�t know why I couldn�t find those sites), sent me three possible fixes, and one did the trick. I�m back in business.


So now I�m working backwards from yesterday. Oh, yeah, I missed Cher�s special, but I�m sure it�ll be repeated. On the other hand, what I wanted � and got � was the NCAA Women�s Final. By now you must have heard the score: UConn 73, Tennessee 68. Go, UConn! I am so proud to be an alumna.


I wanted to comment on the movie I watched Monday night � �Lovely to Look At.� It was a remake of a 1930�s play, �Roberta� (originally starring Bob Hope). I first saw �Lovely to Look At� fifty years ago at Radio City Music Hall in New York. We were a group of Girl Scouts, I think; trips to New York were common, but not so common that we didn�t appreciate them. The plot may be weak � as were some of the characters � but Jerome Kern�s music stands the test of time. They�re still singing �Smoke Gets in Your Eyes.�


The main reason Son was in town on Sunday was for M.D.�s birthday. They don�t see as much of each other now, but Son and M.D. depended on each other mightily as they grew up, because U.D. always took up so much emotional space; I was always grateful for their closeness. We went to see �Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers,� and had a pleasant meal afterwards.

Let me tell you, they were robbed. No one appreciates a good musical more than I do, but I cannot imagine how �Chicago� could possibly be a better film than �The Two Towers.� Even as I was caught up with the plot and the acting, I kept noticing the technical work that made it ever more remarkable. (And wondering �how did they do that?�) The only reason I could see for ignoring it is its obviously pacifist philosophy, which might sway the Academy voters. I understand that filming for all three movies was done at the same time; so maybe they�ll be able to present an award for the trilogy.


My weekend began with Friday, of course, sort of like Axel (he�s so cute). I took Husband to the doctor and the lab (no one�s called me back, so I guess there�s nothing terribly wrong with him). Then I took him for his �rewards�: lunch at Denny�s and a trip to the market for his cookies and doughnuts. I couldn�t not do any of this, but my plans for the day were shot. Oh, well, there�s always next week. I need a haircut so badly I look like a Shetland pony � or maybe an English sheep dog.

Current Reading:
Good Diary Today:
From the Old Folks' Radio:

previous - next

thanksalot - 2012-03-15
update 12-2011 - 2011-12-04
Did You Know? - 2011-02-08
Not Really an Update - 2011-01-14
The Lonely Crowd - 2010-11-15

Like it? Spread the word!
Members page
About me