A Place of My Own



Why Kevin and Kell?
Why?




or ...



Newest
Older
E-mail
Diaryland



No sound? Click for help!

Why I love this music

2002-09-25 - 4:06 p.m.

My Day at the Races

The best laid plans of mice and men� I decided not to drive down to my sister�s today, but to go instead to a local university where Charles Osgood � one of my favorite broadcasters � is scheduled to speak. I�m still planning to go, but my day is already in shreds.

Last night U.D. informed me that she had to be at the garage before going to work, in order to repair a tire. (Why is it, whenever I look at her, I visualize dollar bills with wings?) So I knew I wasn�t going to be able to sleep in, even if I wanted to. As it was, I woke about four with a minor problem and was up for an hour, so I didn�t want to get up when the alarm went off. I stole an extra half hour and got up a little after six, to find Husband sitting at the kitchen table. Listening to the wrong radio station. I turned it on to the first Osgood File of the day, but I didn�t hear it because Husband was conversational.

�After we go to Miami,� he says (Miami?), �there�s one more trip I want to take. Son wants to go too.� (He does?) �I want to go to California to see your brother.� (He has almost nothing in common with my brother.) �We can stay in a motel or something if he doesn�t want us at the house because she�s there.� (She is my former sister-in-law; they�ve been divorced for a couple of years.) �We would certainly stay in a motel regardless,� I tell him, �but I�m not planning it at 6:30 in the morning.� I�ll have to send this conversation to my brother; he needs a good laugh.

Husband sits there while I make coffee, wash his dishes from last night, waken U.D., go outside for the newspaper, test my sugar and count out my pills. Understand, I�m not asking him to do any of this stuff; I just wish he would realize that I have an agenda that isn�t his.

I show him the printout about Charles Osgood speaking today, and he says �maybe I�ll go.� �I don�t think so,� I say, �not unless you�re ready by half past twelve today.� �Today?� he says, �I thought it was Sunday morning.� No, that�s the name of his TV show. �Well, maybe I�ll go. Can I borrow U.D.�s camera?� Certainly not. Not only does he not know how to use a digicam, but the kids bought him a 35mm a couple of years ago, and he has �misplaced� it. I�m not taking responsibility for a piece of expensive hardware.

�Why would you want to go?� I asked. �It�s just a speech. You don�t even want to listen to him when he�s on the radio� � since I have now missed Osgood File number one. So he decided against going, but I�m already off track.

I missed Osgood File number two and three as well, thanks to U.D. There�d better not be any written exam at this celebration. (The celebration is the five-year anniversary of the university-run radio station, WQUN, which just happens to be a super community station.) And I don�t know whether I�ll be able to run any errands this morning, because I didn�t even shower till 9:30 (missed the last Osgood). Before I finished in the bathroom, Husband needed it � and before he considered himself done, he had a phone call. I�m just writing while I wait. (And he doesn't even understand Marx Brothers movies.)

He almost forgot he wasn�t done in the bathroom. And then Sister calls to find out whether I�ve decided to come after all. She doesn�t have a clue as to what he�s like. Not only is her husband much younger, but she has never had a child. Her early ambition was to be a teacher, and she fancies that she�s very good with children. I haven�t the heart to tell her that I find her manner with kids annoying � and so do most kids I know!

It�s 10:30 and I�ve only just started to build this face. (I can do it in steps, but it takes more steps the older I get.) I think I�ll get to the bank and the post office, but I won�t be able to take the time to shop. On the other hand, part of the block of time I was saving for the supermarket can be used for writing. (Appreciate what you�ve got.)

* * * * *

I�m back. I�m glad I went. I enjoyed Mr. Osgood�s talk (and his singing the Pledge of Allegiance), and it really is nice to know that this little radio station is thriving. But it was a l-o-o-ong drive, and a very long walk from the car to the lecture room. Me, tired? Maybe I�ll nap so that I�ll be able to watch �Enterprise� tonight.

Current Reading:
Good Diary Today:
From the Old Folks' Radio:

previous - next

thanksalot - 2012-03-15
update 12-2011 - 2011-12-04
Did You Know? - 2011-02-08
Not Really an Update - 2011-01-14
The Lonely Crowd - 2010-11-15

Like it? Spread the word!
Members page
About me