A Place of My Own



Why Kevin and Kell?
Why?




or ...



Newest
Older
E-mail
Diaryland



No sound? Click for help!

Why I love this music

2003-06-22 - 10:11 a.m.

A Lesson Learned

Sometimes an entry from someone else�s diary prompts me to write a similar one of my own. It is pure coincidence that Marn wrote about this subject last week. I started the story shortly before, thinking about how I miss my friend.

My friend and co-worker was really an admirable young man. He was handsome and smart and talented in many other ways as well. He was an excellent writer, a thoughtful teacher, a fine craftsman (excellent carpenter), a computer programmer, and a talented musician. Even better, perhaps, was his willingness to do whatever had to be done, with never a word that maybe his talents lay elsewhere. I was proud that he considered me a friend.

One day he came into my office to tell me he was leaving � not only the job, but the city as well. A long-time romance had broken up, and he just couldn�t bear to stay in the same place. You�ve heard the story before, as have I. The only difference was that his lost lover was another man.

I was really amazed. In all the years I had known him, I had never suspected that he was different. He showed me a long farewell letter he had written. By the time I finished reading it, I was only sorry that he was so heartbroken and wishing that I could make him feel better. All the rest of it didn�t matter.

I realized that, indeed, nothing had changed. He was still handsome, smart and talented. In the back of my mind, I could hear some bigot asking, �But would you trust him with your son?� And the answer came back, clear as a bell: of course I would. I had trusted him with my daughters when I assumed he was straight. The honesty and integrity remained intact.

Granted, my experience was limited. The only gay men I had worked with (during the Sixties) were a couple of disagreeable guys who probably would have been just as unpleasant whatever their orientation. I had never dwelt on it.

I wished my friend well, though I absolutely hated to see him go. I found myself thinking about the problems of the gay community in a different way. Mostly I never cared about anyone else�s sexual habits; don�t tell me yours and I won�t tell you mine.

The values that make a home are caring, consideration, and commitment. The respect that grows out of that kind of a relationship holds the rest of it together, and the gender of the principals doesn�t matter. Most of us know of at least one unconventional household that functions well. Maybe the wife is the breadwinner, or maybe there are three adults sharing responsibility for each other�s children. Why it works is nobody�s business.

In the end, it�s not about politics. It�s about the individual.


I haven�t been in touch with my friend for several years. He was doing fairly well when we last corresponded, but now my mail to him simply disappears. (If it were returned, at least that would tell me something.) He must be about fifty now, and I worry about him. I know he helped care for friends who were dying of AIDS; he may be ill as well. And I miss him.

Current Reading:
Good Diary Today:
From the Old Folks' Radio:

previous - next

thanksalot - 2012-03-15
update 12-2011 - 2011-12-04
Did You Know? - 2011-02-08
Not Really an Update - 2011-01-14
The Lonely Crowd - 2010-11-15

Like it? Spread the word!
Members page
About me